Sunday, April 24, 2016

Stacking the Shelves (136)

 Stacking The Shelves, a weekly meme from Tynga's Reviews
where I list what I've read, what I've reviewed, what I've acquired
and anything else worth mentioning

I'm sooo behind. Will hopefully get back to more consistent posting soon.

  • Dark Votex by Stella Marie Alden
  • A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest
  • High #3 by Leigh James
  • Otherwise Engaged by Suzanne Brockman
  • Rock Courtship by Nalini Singh
  • Ambushing Ariel by SE Hall
  • Evgeni by Lolita Lopez
  • Twisting Fate by Jessie J Holmes
  • Tempted by Brenda Tetreault
  • Fever Claim by Marie Johnston
  • Electric by Emilia Winters
  • Extreme Honor by Piper J Drake
  • Enchanted Heart by Mindy Ruiz
  • Pressing Adalyn by Jenn Hype
  • Undone 1 by Callie Harper
  • Moment(s) by Lisa Terry
  • Chasing Rhodes by Anne Jolin
  • Reawakened by Colleen Houck
  • Against the Wall by Rebecca Zanetti
  • Air Bound by Christine Feehan
  • Murder Game by Christine Feehan
  • The Beast in Him by Shelly Laurenston
  • Heaven and Hell by Kristen Ashley
  • A Rake's Vow by Stephanie Laurens
  • Scandal's Bride by Stephanie Laurens
  • Tracking Trisha by SE Hall
  • The Mane Squeeze by Shelly Laurenston

4 star review

4 star review

Book image property of Microsoft  

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday (138) A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes #2) by Sabaa Tahir

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, created by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
This week I'm waiting on: 
A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes, #2)

A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes #2) by

A Torch Against the Night takes readers into the heart of the Empire as Laia and Elias fight their way north to liberate Laia’s brother from the horrors of Kauf Prison. Hunted by Empire soldiers, manipulated by the Commandant, and haunted by their pasts, Laia and Elias must outfox their enemies and confront the treacherousness of their own hearts.

In the city of Serra, Helene Aquilla finds herself bound to the will of the Empire’s twisted new leader, Marcus. When her loyalty is questioned, Helene finds herself taking on a mission to prove herself—a mission that might destroy her, instead.
(Blurb via Goodreads)

Expected publication: August 30, 2016
What are you waiting on?

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Teaser Tuesday (128) Easy Love by Kristen Proby

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read(s)
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) -- or less or more -- “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!) 

All I can see, all I can think about, is you. I want you. You don’t just cross my mind once in a while you live in it.”
Easy Love by Kristen Proby

Sunday, April 3, 2016

Stacking the Shelves (135) - the very overdue edition

 Stacking The Shelves, a weekly meme from Tynga's Reviews
where I list what I've read, what I've reviewed, what I've acquired
and anything else worth mentioning
  • Finding His Dragon by Elainne Adams
  • Desert Hunt by Anna Lowe
  • Cleat Chaser by Celia Aaron
  • Dragon Mated by jaymin Eve
  • Keeley's Fight by K.L. Donn
  • Blown Away by Abby Brooks
  • Ethereal by Michele Faison
  • Tangled Up in Princes by Molly Jameson
  • Girl of Sand and Fog by Susan Ward
  • Angelfire by Hanna Peach
  • Stone Cold Bad by Tess Oliver
  • Water Bound by Christine Feehan
  • Spirit Bound by Christine Feehan
  • Scandal's Bride by Stephanie Laurens
  • The Gamble by Kristen Ashley
  • Save Me by J.L. Leslie
  • Dragon in the Rough by Jo Vanz
  • Saven Decpetion by Siobhan Davis
  • Celestial Desire by Abbie Zanders
  • Wings of Redemption by Sarah Gilman
  • Ready to Were by Robyn Peterman
  • Ash by Jaymin Eve and Leia Stone
  • Unleashed by Callie Harper
  • Bite Me by Shelly Laurenston
  • Mane Squeeze  by Shelly Laurenston
  • The Unleashing by Shelly Laurenston
  • Pack Challenge  by Shelly Laurenston
  • Tracking Trisha by S.E. Smith
  • Croc's Return by Eve Langlais
  • A Rake's Vow by Stephanie Laurens
I Wish You Were Mine (Oxford, #2)

4 star review

Holding Court
4 star review

Book image property of Microsoft  

{eARC Review} Holding Court by K.C. Held

Holding Court

Holding Court by

Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her new job at castle-turned-dinner-theater Tudor Times. Some extra cash, wearing a fancy-pants dress, and plenty of time to secretly drool over the ever-so-tasty--and completely unavailable--Grayson Chandler. Except that it's not quite what she imagined.

For one, the costume Jules has to wear is awful. Then there's the dead body she finds that just kind of...well, disappears. Oh, and there's the small issue of Jules and her episodes of what her best friend calls "Psychic Tourette's Syndrome"--spontaneous and uncontrollable outbursts of seemingly absurd prophecies.

The only bright side? This whole dead body thing seems to have gotten Grayson's attention. Except that the more Jules investigates, the more she discovers that Grayson's interest might not be as courtly as she thought. In fact, it's starting to look suspicious...
(Blurb via Goodreads)
{Details} eARC, 352 pages. Published March 1st 2016 by Entangled Teen. Source: eARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

{Rating} 4//5 - I really liked it!


A really cute YA mystery story; it's a story with murders that still manages to be cute and that's hard to do.

I adored the characters. Jules was a great heroine, she felt really relatable, struggling with her identity, the boy she has a crush on, the psychic abilities that make her different and her desire to do the right thing that makes her want to solve the mystery. I liked her grandmother with her endless Eleanor Roosevelt quotes, the sweet boy she's crushing on, and the cast of characters from Henry VIII's court.

I enjoyed the storyline, laughed out loud more than once, Jules' PTS (psychic Tourette's syndrome) was hilarious. And the mystery was really well done, the 'who did it' kept me guessing until the very end.

Holding Court is my first K.C. Held novel but it certainly won't be the last.

{eARC Review} I Wish You Were Mine (Oxford #2) by Lauren Layne

I Wish You Were Mine (Oxford, #2)
I Wish You Were Mine (Oxford #2) by
Perfect for fans of Alice Clayton and Emma Chase, Lauren Layne’s Oxford series heats up in this story of forbidden desire as a brooding jock hoping for a comeback falls for a woman who’s strictly off-limits.

A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist for Oxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.
(Blurb via Goodreads)
{Details}ebook, 260 pages. Published February 2nd 2016 by Loveswept. Source: eARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

{Rating} 4/5 - I really liked it!


Jackson's life has been completely derailed and he's not doing well. He's anti-social. He's going through the motions. Mollie is a smart girl with a huge blind spot when it comes to her sister. I could see how her sister really is - everyone could - but Mollie is desperately loyal and thinks of her sister as the person who saved her, and I suppose she did, a little, but not to the degree Mollie has built it up in her head.

They have a lot working against them; he doesn't want to be in the city - or the same coast - in his job, he wants the life he, she's got a lot of guilt because of her sister. I liked them together. Mollie is good for Jackson, helping him build relationships, open up, have a life again even if it wasn't the life he intended to be living.
I enjoyed seeing the characters from Oxford, seeing my favorite couple Penelope and Cole still deliriously happy, and getting a little bit of insight into Lincoln, the hero of the next book in the Oxford series. 

While I didn't love this book as much as I loved book one, Irresistibly Yours, I did enjoy it and if you haven't given Lauren Layne, or the Oxford series, a try, I highly recommend it.